Dear colleagues,

We would like to draw your attention to an international summer school dedicated to "Advanced data assimilation for geosciences". It will be held at the Ecole de Physique des Houches, near the scenic village of Les Houches in the French Alps (close to Chamonix), from 28 May 2012 to 15 June 2012.

During these three weeks, about 20 lecturers will focus on the methodological aspects of data assimilation for geosciences, and in particular atmospheric and oceanographic sciences.
The school is primarily intended for doctoral students in data assimilation in their second to final year, and for postodoctoral fellows. The school in Les Houches can host up to 55 participants.

 * * *

The cost for accommodation and meals is 1300 euros per participant for the three weeks.  This fee also includes a bound volume containing the lectures.  Limited funding may be available to students to cover a portion of accommodation and travel costs.

Details on the application can be found at the school website:
In order to be considered by the selection committee, application forms and letters of recommendation should be received (by e-mail and pdf document format) at daschool2012@ujf-grenoble.fr, no later than the 15th of November 2011.
Decisions as to acceptance will be sent in mid-January.

Additional information is available on the web site of the summer school: http://houches2012.gforge.inria.fr
See also the web site of Les Houches school of physics:

Yours sincerely,

The organizing committee.
* * *


Main lectures

Carla Cardinali (Reading, UK)
Andew Lorenc (Exeter, UK)
Chris Snyder (Boulder, USA)

Specialized lectures

Loïk Berre (Toulouse, France)
Eric Blayo (Grenoble, France)
Marc Bocquet (Paris, France)
Pierre Brasseur (Grenoble, France)
Emmanuel Cosme (Grenoble, France)
Laurent Debreu (Grenoble, France)
Gérald Desroziers (Toulouse, France)
François-Xavier Le Dimet (Grenoble, France) Hendrik Elbern (Cologne, Germany) Mike Fisher (Reading, UK) Ichiro Fukumori (Pasadena, USA) Laurent Hascoët (Sophia-Antipolis, France) Peter Houtekamer (Dorval, Canada) Kayo Ide (College Park, USA) Peter Jan van Leeuwen (Reading, UK) Florence Rabier (Toulouse, France) Olivier Talagrand (Paris, France) Arthur Vidard (Grenoble, France) John Wilkin (Rutgers, USA)

Organizing committee

Eric Blayo, Marc Bocquet, Emmanuel Cosme

Scientific advisory committee

Chris Snyder, Olivier Talagrand, Jacques Verron